Yale's 20th English Monarchs title

Tuesday, 26 May 2020

Congratulations are due to the team at Yale UK for publishing the twentieth new title in the English Monarchs series under their watch; the thirty-second in the series. This is nearly an average rate of one book per year. For an academic publisher this is a remarkable pace and a measure of their commitment to their mission statement: “By publishing serious works that contribute to a global understanding of human affairs, Yale University Press aids in the discovery and dissemination of light and truth.” Yale’s first new book in the series was Richard II in April 1997, accompanied by reprints of six existing titles during that year, one of them new to the series. The latest book in the series, Henry III, was published two weeks ago, on 12 May 2020. This is twenty books in twenty-three years, almost to the week. In addition to this splendid record, Yale has published seven further related titles which this website is observing as ‘Companion’ books - two of them biographies of monarchs. This pace of publishing continues; a further book is due late in 2020, and another at the end of 2021 which will increase Yale’s contribution to the series to twenty-two books. See the complete list of titles here.